Eczema Free Forever™

Celiac Disease – What Can I Eat?

People suffering from celiac disease or even those who suspect they have the condition can greatly benefit from following a diet free from gluten. Sticking to a gluten-free diet can also be done by those who have dermatitis herpetiformis which is a skin problem related to sensitivity to gluten.

Gluten is a protein component present in certain cereals most especially wheat, rye and barley. A particular component of gluten called gliadin is the main cause of celiac disease. It is to be understood, though, that while avoiding wheat in the diet is advisable, it won’t necessarily cut gluten in your diet. The reason is that gluten is not solely limited to cereals because this protein component can be found in other foods, too.

The best way to stay away from gluten then is to do your research. If you’re positive of celiac disease or gluten allergy, being knowledgeable of the safe and unsafe foods can go a long way in improving your health. Doing your homework on the internet is a good start. There are numerous websites that cater to gluten-free diets and foods and those that provide detailed information on celiac disease and its symptoms.

Having the disorder shouldn’t discourage you to limit your intake of your favorite foods. What’s important is you avoid using ingredients and foods that contain gluten to be able to enjoy life. There’s no reason that you can’t prepare your usual recipes just as long as you’re careful with what you use.

If you’re fond of sauces in your food, make sure to use gluten-free flour and not the wheat flour. Soy sauce and readily available sauces in packs, stock cubes and soups should be avoided at all cost. To season your food, you can still use salt, pepper, vinegar, herbs and spices, tamari and yeast.

Fresh fruits and vegetables should not be absent in your daily diet. They’re rich in nutrients to keep your body strong and healthy. You can even choose to stick to a vegetarian diet if you wish just to be on the safe side.

Don’t forget your dose of proteins which are the important building blocks of the body. These are found in fish, seafood, meat, poultry, eggs and dairy products. Include nuts and seeds, soy products and cereals that don’t have gluten. Protein is especially vital to growing children but be sure to consult with a dietitian on what foods are best for kids who have celiac disease.

For cereals, cakes and pastries, it’s best to use corn, tapioca, soy bran, rice, buckwheat, custard and arrowroot. Other grains suitable for a gluten-free diet are millet, lupine, quinoa, sorghum and montina. To satisfy your sweet tooth, it’s safe to use jam, marmalade, sugar, honey, molasses, golden syrup and certain brands of chocolate.

Did you know that you still enjoy your favorite alcoholic drinks to go with your meals? Yes, that’s right. Gin, whiskey and wine are okay. Just avoid beer, root beer and ale.

Remember that eating the right foods is your best bet towards improving your health. Follow a gluten-free diet and you have a good chance of lowering your risk for complications associated with celiac disease.

What is Celiac Disease? If you would like to learn more about the symptoms, treatment, and the gluten free diet, please visit: http://www.WhatIsCeliacDisease.com

Related Atopic Dermatitis Articles

Eczema Free Forever™